Eat Me: Sexy Foods (Hot, or Not?)

By Michelle Clower, Co-Owner/Creator, Sassy Shirtz

They say the way to the heart is through the stomach, but they forgot to mention the eyes and mouth. The enjoyment of food typically begins as a visual experience (much like most attractions). Once beyond visual stimulation, we open our mouth and hope our palate agrees. If we’re lucky, our senses are in unison and the final destination begins…or does it?

 It is rumored that some foods have a positive effect on the libido. When I consider that notion, visions of strawberries and chocolate dances through my head but I don’t know if the rest of my body will react to that dynamic duo the same way my sweet tooth will. If I’m in the presence of the opposite sex, they are going to have a serious problem competing with that display.

 In preparation for my date, I began researching which foods are really suppose to uplift your libido. Much to my surprise (and delight), I learned there was a wealth of information on the subject. For the sake of time (I had a date an hour), I made a quick list of what foods were “hot” and what foods were “not”. Check it out:

Oysters – NOT

It is estimated that you would have to eat at least 50 oysters for it to have the desired effect. I don’t know about you but that’s A LOT of oysters!

Chocolate Covered Strawberries – HOT (Yes!)

The combination of Vitamin C in the strawberries, thetheobromine (an alkaloid — which is very similar to caffeine) and phenylethylamine (stimulates “happy senors” in the brain) in chocolate and the sheer beauty of them, even if it wasn’t HOT I would have to have them anyway!

Sirloin Steak – HOT

6ozs of lean protein is all you need to get your engine ravving.

Bananas – HOT

Full of both Calcium and Vitamin B, it can make you go ape! The shape is cool too.

½ Bottle of Wine – NOT

What! Yes, wine relaxes the mind but it also relaxes the blood vessels. That is definitely not the effect you’re looking for!

Tomatoes – NOT

This secret fruit decreases testosterone (Yes, tomatoes are a fruit not a vegetable!)

Vanilla Ice Cream – HOT

Calcium and Phosphorus are the heroes of the day (or night), unless you’re lactose intolerant of course. Look for low fat/low sugar options.

Asparagus – HOT

Although not pretty, this unpopular veggie is packed with Vitamin E.

Wow, where did the time go? I just looked at the clock and realized my date would be arriving in an hour. I still have to turn the steaks, check the asparagus, and chill the sparkling grape juice. I’m serving vanilla ice cream with chocolate covered strawberries on top for dessert.

Leave a Reply

