MIDLIFE – THE OTHER ADOLESCENCE

By Michelle Clower, Co-Owner/Creator, Sassy Shirtz

Adolescence is often described as a time in one’s life when a tremendous amount of change takes place. It is also referred to as the “developmental” years; a time when you’re growing at an accelerated pace. Well, in case you didn’t have enough fun the first time around and you’re granted good health, you have round two to look forward to, middle age.

From surging hormones, to mood swings, and acne (to name a few), midlife resembles adolescence so closely sometimes that I look in the mirror surprised when I see an older version of myself. Although society usually associates these changes in men as a mid-life crisis, or menopause in women, midlife grants us another opportunity to transform ourselves and our lives before the final curtain call.

Unlike my adolescence, I am now comfortable in my skin and less likely to succumb to peer pressure. I have a better understanding of who I am and what I’m about. I have less need for approval and acceptance. I  love myself. I love others better too.

At a time when death occurs among people we know more frequently, I am seeing signs of life everywhere! I am discovering new talents and abilities and reactivating old ones. I’m open to new experiences and adventures. I’m having the time of my life!

Luckily I previously consulted many seasoned veterans of middle age, so I’ve had an idea of what to expect. I embraced their words of wisdom and made mental notes of the pitfalls they warned me to avoid. Note: Sometimes I jumped over the holes, but other times I still fell in.

Eventually, everyone will have to accept that their time on earth is limited. Trust me, the sooner we accept it the better! When we arrive at the middle part of our lives fully conscious of the inevitability of death it will either spur renewed energy, excitement, and commitment to living the second half of our lives fully, or it will frighten us into maintaining a sense of self that no longer defines us. Thankfully, I chose what’s behind door number one.

What is middle age anyway? Isn’t forty the new thirty?

Leave a Reply

